Public Safety Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Public Safety Commission was created on September 18, 1989 and is comprised of five (5) members, appointed by individual Councilmembers, and two (2) members appointed by the Council as a whole (at-large). Each member of the Commission shall serve a two-year term commencing June 1st following a general municipal election. Members shall be residents of the City and shall not be officers or employees of the City. The Commission shall meet no more than once monthly, and if a member of the Commission is absent for any reason for more than three regular meetings in any twelve-month period, the office of such member shall be vacated.

It is the function of the Public Safety Commission to evaluate and recommend suggestions involving public safety issues, to assist the City Manager's office and the City Council in strengthening community response to emergencies, and to evaluate and make recommendations regarding neighborhood livability issues.  Click here to view the Municipal Code Section governing the duties of the Public Safety Commission.

The Public Safety Commission meets the 2nd Monday at 6:30 p.m. in the 1st Floor Conference Room at City Hall, located at 8300 Santa Monica Blvd. For more information, contact the Commission's Staff Liaison, Kristin Cook at 323-848-6492 or the Commission's Secretary, Rob Winrader at 323-848-6580.

The current Public Safety Commissioners are:
Chair:  Jeffrey Waack
Vice Chair:  Robert Oliver
Tory Berger
Amanda Laflen
Marcy Norton
Desiree Sol
Ruth Williams