Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning Commission was created on December 5, 1985 and consists of five (5) members, appointed by individual Council members, and two (2) members appointed by the Council as a whole (at-large). Each member of the Commission shall serve a two-year term commencing June 1st following a general municipal election. Members shall be residents of the City and shall not be officers or employees of the City.

The Planning Commission shall have and exercise all of the powers, duties, rights, privileges and authorities of City Planning Commissions as set forth in the State Planning and Zoning Law.  These duties include reviewing and making decisions for new construction projects that include development permits, demolition permits, conditional use permits, variances, major parking use permits, specific plans, and development agreements.  Confirms that development projects meet Zoning Ordinance requirements and are consistent with the General Plan.  Makes recommendations to the City Council on all legislative changes to the Zoning Ordinance and General Plan, development agreements and specific plans, and considers the environmental impacts from projects in compliance with CEQA.  Click here to view the Municipal Code Section governing the duties of the Planning Commission.

Meetings of the Planning Commission are held on the first and third Thursdays of the month at 6:30 p.m. at West Hollywood Park Public Meeting Room - Council Chambers, 625 N. San Vicente Boulevard. 

For more information, please contact:

Current and Historic Preservation Planning Manager David DeGrazia at 323-848-6844
Long Range and Mobility Planning Manager Bianca Siegl at 323-848-6853. 

If you'd like to contact Planning Commission members directly or for parliamentary information regarding the agenda or agenda packet, contact the Commission Secretary, David Gillig at 323-848-6331 or via e-mail at

The current Planning Commissioners are:
Chair: Sue Buckner
Vice Chair: Stacey Jones

David Aghaei
John Altschul
Adam G. Bass
Rogerio Carvalheiro
Lynn Hoopingarner