Eastside Working Group

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Eastside Community Plan Working Group is to be comprised of fifteen (15) Eastside community members: residents, business owners or those with significant business interests, community leaders, young professionals, families, seniors, members of the Russian Community, WHCC board members, and a residential landlord.  Members may represent more than one stakeholder category. The fifteen (15) members will include ten (10) members appointed at-large by a majority vote of the Council, in addition to one (1) member appointed directly by each Councilmember.  

The purpose of the Working Group is to develop an Eastside Community Plan to be completed in a period of twelve months.  The Working Group may continue to meet after that period as needed to discuss implementation and monitor progress on the Community Plan.  

With the support of staff and consultants, the Working Group will develop a Community Plan to catalog and prioritize the needs of the Eastside, develop implementation strategies, and, in concert with staff, make recommendations to City Council regarding implementation of the Plan.  

In September, 2013 an Eastside Task Force recommended four main areas to be addressed in the Community Plan: land use, economic development (and possible formation of a Business Improvement District), civic engagement, and public events.  The Working Group will discuss and expand upon these themes to further delineate goals, objectives and strategies for the Community Plan.  Depending on the needs identified by the Working Group, the Community Plan may address a wide range of issues including housing, transportation/mobility, community services, or other topics.

Meetings of the Eastside Working Group will reconvene in February 2016 and continue through September 2016.  The Group will meet the fourth Tuesday of every month at 6:30 pm at City Hall - 8300 Santa Monica Blvd.  For more information, contact Bianca Siegl at 323-848-6853.   

The current members of the Eastside Working Group are:

Marina Berkman
Justine Block
Chad Blouin
Rose DiSarno
Carlos Florez
Emily Gable
Tod Hallman
Brian Holt
Steve Martin
Jared Meisler
Dani Shaker
Jesse Slansky
Agassi Topchian
Neal Zaslavsky